Absentia starring Stana Katic premieres Jan. 21

We’re excited to announce the highly-anticipated crime thriller Absentia, starring Stana Katic, premieres Sunday, Jan. 21 at 9 E/P, on Showcase.

Watch a trailer for Absentia now.

About the show: While hunting one of Boston’s most notorious serial killers, FBI agent Emily Byrne (Stana Katic, Castle) disappears without a trace and is declared dead.

Six years later, she is found in a cabin in the woods, barely alive, with no memory of what happened to her while she was in captivity. Returning home to learn that her husband (Patrick Heusinger) has remarried and her son is being raised by another woman, Emily soon finds herself implicated in a new series of murders.

Golden Globe nominations for The Sinner, Mr. Robot

Showcase is proud to announce The Sinner and Mr. Robot have picked up 2018 Golden Globe® nominations.

The Sinner is nominated for:

  • Best TV Movie or Limited Series
  • Jessica Biel – Best Actress in a TV Movie or Limited Series

Watch The Sinner on Showcase on Demand.

Mr. Robot is nominated for:

  • Christian Slater – Supporting actor in a series, limited series or motion picture made for television

Watch Mr. Robot Season 3 finale Wednesday, Dec. 13 on Showcase, and watch online episodes at showcase.ca.

 

Other nominations we’re happy to see include:

  • Travelers‘ own Eric McCormack for his work in Will & Grace (Actor in a television series, musical or comedy) – watch it on Global
  • Outlander‘s Caitriona Balfe (Actress in a television series, drama) – watch it on W Network
  • Genius‘ Geoffrey Rush (Actor in a limited series or motion picture made for television) – watch it on National Geographic

Travelers back-to-back episodes on Dec. 11

You don’t want to miss this: on Monday, Dec. 11 Showcase is airing two new Travelers episodes back-to back.

At 9 pm ET – Ep 309: Update

Philip’s timeline receives an update with some unwanted side effects, Trevor makes a disturbing discovery about his host’s past, and MacLaren deals with the return of a traveler he thought had gone away for good.

At 10 pm ET- Ep 310: 21C

While MacLaren, Carly, Trevor, and Philip work with another traveler team to protect a child important to the future, Marcy takes measures to remember her past life – but uncovers more than she bargained for.

Catch up on episodes of Travelers online or Showcase On Demand.

Star Wars weekends on Showcase

Get ready, Star Wars fans! Showcase is running out-of-this-world Star Wars movie marathons over two weekends in December.

All times subject to change. Check schedule for full listings.

Saturday, Dec. 9 – Sunday, Dec. 10 starting at 12:30 ET
Star Wars: Episode IV – A New Hope
Star Wars: Episode V – The Empire Strikes Back
Star Wars: Episode VI – Return of the Jedi

Tune in all weekend long for other great programming including new hit series Marvel’s Runaways and blockbuster movies like The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug and Indiana Jones and the Kingdom of the Crystal Skull.

 

Saturday, Dec. 2 – Sunday, Dec. 3 starting at noon ET
Star Wars: Episode I – The Phantom Menace
Star Wars: Episode II – Attack of the Clones
Star Wars: Episode III – Revenge of the Sith

Don’t miss the other great programming this weekend, including new hit series Marvel’s Runaways and blockbuster movies like Indiana Jones and the Raiders of the Lost Ark and The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey.

Get Happy! on Showcase, starting Dec. 7

This holiday season Showcase has a special gift for fans of dark comedy, Christopher Meloni and cartoon horses: new series Happy!, premiering Thursday, Dec. 7 at 10 ET.

Comedian Patton Oswalt (Emmy-Award winner Talking for Clapping, Ratatouille, Veep) co-stars as the titular Happy, the blue, winged and also imaginary small horse who befriends a corrupt ex-cop-turned hitman (Meloni, best known for his comedic role in Wet Hot American Summer and his entirely non-comedic series Law & Order: Special Victims Unit).

Happy! is based on the graphic novel by New York Times best-selling author Grant Morrison and artist Darick Robertson.

Watch a trailer for Happy! now.

What’s coming to Showcase in the fall?

Grab your popcorn, Showcase is bringing you the best dramas for fall!

Travelers
Season 2 premieres Monday, October 16 at 9 E/P
This season, FBI Special Agent Grant MacLaren (Eric McCormack) and his team of time-travelling specialists attempt to navigate their 21st century lives while tasked with the mission of saving the future from a dystopian existence. The Travelers will face their most difficult obstacles yet, including the Faction, a deadly virus, and a mysterious new Traveler (Enrico Colantoni), all while continuing to live the everyday lives of the present-day host bodies over which they’ve taken.
Get a recap of season 1
Watch the trailer for season 2

Transparent
Season 4 premieres Friday, September 29 at 9 ET/PT
The fourth season of Amazon Studios’ Transparent debuts with two back-to-back episodes. This season, the family embarks on a spiritual and political journey as they dig deep into their family’s history. Maura heads to Israel to speak at a conference and makes a startling discovery, but before long, the rest of the family joins her for an explosive adventure. Adrift in the desert, Maura, Ali (Gaby Hoffmann), Sarah (Amy Landecker), Josh (Jay Duplass) and Shelly (Judith Light) ultimately set off on their own paths to find acceptance, love, and truth.
Watch the trailer

Supergirl
Season 3 premieres Monday, October 9 at 8 E/P
Born on the planet Krypton, Kara Zor-El escaped its destruction years ago. Since arriving on Earth, she’s been hiding the powers she shares with her famous cousin. Now at age 24, Kara Danvers decides to embrace her superhuman abilities and be the hero she was always meant to be.
Watch the trailer
Watch the top 5 fights in Supergirl

Mr.Robot
Season 3 Premieres Wednesday, Oct 11 at 10 E/P

The series follows Elliot Alderson (Emmy®-winner Rami Malek), a cyber-security engineer who became involved in the underground hacker group fsociety after being recruited by their mysterious leader, Mr. Robot (Golden Globe®-winner Christian Slater). Season 3 picks up following last season’s cliffhanger, and explores each character’s motivations and the disintegration between Elliot and Mr. Robot.
Watch the trailer

Star Wars
Star Wars Episodes I – VI. Thanksgiving weekend
This Thanksgiving weekend, you can also look forward to our Star Wars marathon featuring the following titles: Star Wars: A New HopeStar Wars: The Empire Strikes BackStar Wars: Return of the JediStar Wars: The Phantom MenaceStar Wars: Attack of the Clones, and Star Wars: Revenge of the Sith.
See full schedule

Channel Zero: No End House
Coming Soon
The series continues with another terrifying viral internet tale. Channel Zero: No-End House centres on Margot Sleator (Amy Forsyth), a young woman who visits an eerie house of horrors featuring a series of disturbing rooms, each more frightening than the last. Upon returning home, she discovers that everything has changed.

Marvel’s Runaways
Premieres Nov 22 at 9 E/P
Rounding off our epic fall is Marvel’s Runaways. The 10-episode series follows a group of six diverse teenagers who can barely stand each other but who must unite against a common foe – their parents. Based on the Marvel comic books, the action series explores the younger side of the Marvel Universe in a coming of age action tale.

Star Wars is coming to Showcase!

Grab your popcorn - we’re bringing you Star Wars this Thanksgiving weekend. Here’s a look at what’s playing:

Star Wars: The Phantom Menace
Jedi Knights Obi-Wan Kenobi (Ewan McGregor) and Qui-Gon Jinn (Liam Neeson) rescue Queen Amidala (Natalie Portman), ruler of a peaceful planet invaded by dark forces. On their escape, they discover nine-year-old Anakin Skywalker (Jake Lloyd), a child prodigy who is unusually strong in the Force.
Airing: 
Saturday, Oct 7 at 10am ET/7am PT
Saturday, Oct 7 at 6:45pm ET/3:45pm PT
Sunday, Oct 8 at 8am ET/5am PT

Star Wars: Attack of the Clones
When Jedi apprentice Anakin Skywalker (Hayden Christensen) is assigned to protect Senator Padmé Amidala. he discovers his love for her…and his own darker side. Obi-Wan Kenobi uncovers a secret clone army as the galaxy marches towards full-scale war.
Airing: 
Saturday, Oct 7 at 12:45pm ET/9:45am PT
Saturday, Oct 7 at 9:30pm ET/6:30pm PT
Sunday, Oct 8 at 10:45am ET/7:45am PT

Star Wars: Revenge of the Sith
The Clone Wars rage across the galaxy. The sinister Sith Lord Darth Sidious seizes control of the Republic and corrupts Anakin Skywalker to be his dark apprentice, Darth Vader. Obi-Wan Kenobi must confront his fallen friend in an epic lightsaber duel.
Airing: 
Saturday, Oct 7 at 3:45pm ET/12:45pm PT
Saturday, Oct 7 at 12:30am ET/9:30pm PT
Sunday, Oct 8 at 1:45pm ET/10:45am PT

Star Wars: A New Hope
Young farm boy Luke Skywalker (Mark Hamill) is thrust into a galaxy of adventure when he intercepts a distress call from the captive Princess Leia (Carrie Fisher). The event launches him on a daring mission to rescue her from the clutches of Darth Vader and the evil Empire.
Airing: 
Sunday, Oct 8 at 4:45pm ET/ 1:45pm PT
Sunday, Oct 8 at 12:45am ET/9:45pm PT
Monday, Oct 9 at 12pm ET/ 9am PT

Star Wars: The Empire Strikes Back
The Rebels scatter after the Empire attacks their base on the ice planet Hoth. Han Solo (Harrison Ford) and Princess Leia are pursued by Imperials, while Luke trains with Jedi Master Yoda. Luke must battle Darth Vader and learns the shocking truth of his past.
Airing: 
Sunday, Oct 8 at 7:30pm ET/ 4:30pm PT
Monday, Oct 9 at 2:45pm ET/ 11:45am PT

Star Wars: Return of the Jedi
The Empire prepares to crush the Rebellion with a more powerful Death Star. The Rebel fleet counters with a massive attack on the space station. Luke Skywalker confronts Darth Vader in a final climactic duel.
Airing: 
Sunday, Oct 8 at 10pm ET/ 7pm PT
Monday, Oct 9 at 9:15am ET/ 6:15am PT
Monday, Oct 9 at 5:15pm ET/ 2:15pm PT

Showcase announces thrilling Fall schedule!

Today, Showcase announced the premiere dates for its show-stopping fall 2017 programming lineup.

Executive producer and star Jessica Biel kicks off the powerhouse schedule with thrilling new limited series The Sinner debuting Monday, August 21 at 10 p.m. E/P. Based on the international bestselling novel of the same name, the eight-episode thriller follows a young mother (Jessica Biel) who, when overcome by an inexplicable fit of rage, commits a startling act of violence and to her horror has no idea why. The event launches an inverted and utterly surprising crime thriller whose driving force is not the “who” or the “what” – but the “why.” An investigator (Bill Pullman) finds himself obsessed with uncovering the woman’s buried motive. Together, they travel a harrowing journey into the depths of her psyche and the violent secrets hidden in her past.

Also this fall, new buzzworthy series Marvel’s Runaways premieres Sunday, November 26 at 10 p.m. ET/PT. The 10-episode series follows a group of six diverse teenagers who can barely stand each other but who must unite against a common foe – their parents. Based on the Marvel comic books, the action series explores the younger side of the Marvel Universe in a coming of age action tale.

Then, from acclaimed creator Jill Soloway comes the Canadian broadcast premiere of the fourth season of Amazon Studios’ Transparent, debuting Friday, September 29 at 9 p.m. ET/PT with two back-to-back episodes. The Golden Globe®-winning series follows the life of retired college professor and transgender woman Mort Pfefferman (Golden Globe-winner Jeffrey Tambor) who tells his family his lifelong secret that he will live openly as a woman named Maura. But as Maura starts anew, she can’t escape the messy lives of her three grown children and a larger-than-life ex-wife with challenges of her own. This season, the family embarks on a spiritual and political journey as they dig deep into their family’s history. Maura heads to Israel to speak at a conference and makes a startling discovery, but before long, the rest of the family joins her for an explosive adventure. Adrift in the desert, Maura, Ali (Gaby Hoffmann), Sarah (Amy Landecker), Josh (Jay Duplass) and Shelly (Judith Light) ultimately set off on their own paths to find acceptance, love, and truth. Fans can watch the first three seasons of Transparent Fridays at 9 p.m. ET on Showcase leading up to the season four premiere.

This Thanksgiving weekend, you can also look forward to our Star Wars marathon featuring the following titles: Star Wars: A New Hope, Star Wars: The Empire Strikes Back, Star Wars: Return of the Jedi, Star Wars: The Phantom Menace, Star Wars: Attack of the Clones, and Star Wars: Revenge of the Sith.

The fall schedule continues with the season three premiere of Supergirl on Monday, October 9 at 8 p.m. E/P. Born on the planet Krypton, Kara Zor-El escaped its destruction years ago. Since arriving on Earth, she’s been hiding the powers she shares with her famous cousin. Now at age 24, Kara Danvers decides to embrace her superhuman abilities and be the hero she was always meant to be.

Also in the fall, Travelers returns with the highly-anticipated season two premiere on Monday, October 16 at 9 p.m. E/P. This season, FBI Special Agent Grant MacLaren (Eric McCormack) and his team of time-travelling specialists attempt to navigate their 21st century lives while tasked with the mission of saving the future from a dystopian existence. The Travelers will face their most difficult obstacles yet, including the Faction, a deadly virus, and a mysterious new Traveler (Enrico Colantoni), all while continuing to live the everyday lives of the present-day host bodies over which they’ve taken.

Showcase’s slate of premium dramas continues this October with the season three premiere of critically-acclaimed hacker series, Mr. Robot. Starring Emmy®-winner Rami Malek and Golden Globe-winner Christian Slater, the edge-of-your-seat drama welcomes Emmy-winner Bobby Cannavale this season as Irving, a laconic, no-nonsense, used car salesman. BD Wong also returns as a series regular for his role as Whiterose, the leader of the Dark Army, a Chinese-based hacking organization.

Rounding out the schedule is a chilling new installment of the critically-acclaimed anthology, Channel Zero. This fall, the series continues with another terrifying viral internet tale. Written and executive produced by Nick Antosca, Channel Zero: No-End House centres on Margot Sleator (Amy Forsyth), a young woman who visits an eerie house of horrors featuring a series of disturbing rooms, each more frightening than the last. Upon returning home, she discovers that everything has changed.

 

Eric McCormack talks season 2 of Travelers

At the recent Corus Upfronts, Eric McCormack sheds light on what it’s like to be acting as both Special agent Grant MacLaren in Travelers and Will in Will & Grace. Eric expresses that there has always been a gay and straight man inside of him, and this is the year he lets them both out. 

Check out Showcase’s 2017 – 2018 lineup! 

Eric also reveals that he will be directing the last episode of Travelers, which is currently in production. Season 2 of Travelers picks up on the group’s haunting realization that their missions may have altered the future in ways they did not predict. Joining the new season is Enrico Colantoni.

Read more about Travelers including series news, recaps and more!